• About Papua New Guinea

    Papua New Guinea is located on the eastern half of the island of New Guinea which is the second largest in the world and was divided between Germany (north) and the UK (south) in 1885. The latter area was transferred to Australia in 1902, which occupied the northern portion during World War I and continued to administer the combined areas until independence in 1975.

    It one of the group of islands in the Oceania region the eastern half of the island of New Guinea between the Coral Sea and the South Pacific Ocean, east of Indonesia.

    The country has a population of 7 million with most citizens living in its capital city of Port Moresby.


    Climate: tropical; northwest monsoon (December to March),southeast monsoon (May to October) slight seasonal temperature variation


    Official language (s):  English, Tok Pisin and Hiri Motu, has over 860 languages 


    Independence: 16 September 1975


    National Day: 16 September, Independence Day


    Currency: Kina (PGK) 


    Government type: Unitary Parliamentary democracy and Constitutional monarchy


    Government: Papua New Guinea is a Realm within the Commonwealth with a democratically elected government based on the Westminster model. Executive power lies with the Prime Minister and the National Executive Council (NEC) - the Cabinet.


    Head of State: Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II (since 6 February 1952),represented by the Governor-General, Grand Chief Sir Michael Ogio GCMG, CBE


    Head of Government: Hon Peter O’Neill, CMG, MP
                                       Prime Minister

                                       Hon Leo Dion, MP
                                       Deputy Prime Minister


    Foreign Minister: Hon Rimbink Pato, LLB, MP   Minister for Foreign Affairs and Immigration


    Religion: The constitution declares that Papua New Guinea is a Christian country. About 27 % are Catholics, 19 % Evangelical Lutheran, 11.5 % belong to the United Church and the remaining Christians follow the Evangelical Alliance, Seventh-Day Adventist, Pentecostal, Baptist and Anglican churches. Declared Buddhists, Muslims and Hindus each number in the hundredsAdministrative  There are 22 province-level divisions.  This primary

    Divisions: divisions which include the National Capital District, theAutonomous Region of Bougainville.  Parliament has approved the creation of two additional provinces by 2012 The Hela Province, which will consist of part of the current Southern Highlands Province and the Jiwaka Province, which will be formed by dividing the Western Highlands Province. 


    National Symbol: Bird of Paradise